Newest Entries
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Favorite Blogs...
DefectiveYeti
The Bleat
WilWheatonDotNet
Spike on the River
Neal in Antarctica
Leah's Blog
CamiSue's Blog


Other Links...
Play a game?
CNN News
Trekky Spot
WOW
< ? Colorado Blogs # >

previous - next

March 06, 2007 - Tuesday, 9:30 p.m.

"6 Weird Things about Me"

According to the rules�
Each player of this game lists �6 weird things about you�. People who get tagged need to write a blog of their own 6 weird things as well as state this rule clearly. In the end, you need to choose 6 people to be tagged and list their names. Don�t forget to leave a comment that says �you are tagged� in their comments and tell them to read your blog.

My tag came from Neal. So after about a month I am finally getting to it.

Now, if you talked to my kids they�d come up with a list as long as your arm, but I think it is going to be a little bit more work then that for me. It seems to me that often the things we think of as �normal� may come across as �weird� to someone else. Anyway! Here goes.

1) I�m a Trekkie � not the �die-hard, costume wearing� type, but the type that really enjoys watching all the episodes of all the series. The �Star Trek� world is one I just find very appealing, The idea that everyone does what they do well for a living, and money isn�t a part of the society is wonderful. The idea that you could not only survive, but actually flourish doing the things you love in life is wonderful. Their ideas are idealistic, and appealing to me. I like the dynamic of the �crews� and I thoroughly enjoy the story lines. Like I said� a trekkie.

2) I have two very small teeth. They are the ones right next to my two front teeth, almost like baby teeth, except they fell out once and now they are permanent teeth. They have actually bothered me most of my life, and most of my �posed� picture don�t show me smiling for that reason. Isn�t it funny what things we let bother us?

3) I was on one of the first girls� hockey teams in the state of Minnesota when I was in junior high (but only for one year). I spent most of my winters from the age of about 11 until 15 ice-skating for 2 to 3 hours EVERY night. I started the moment the ice froze on the rink at the park in November or December until it started to melt into slush in late March.

4) I love the Weather Channel. I could watch it every day. (Though I don�t have cable right now). My favorite �season� for watching the Weather Channel? Hurricane season. There is just something totally fascinating about extreme weather.

5) I�m into Genealogy. In my late 40�s that probably isn�t weird, but I started at about 16 years old. In my late 20�s and early 30�s I spent a number of Friday�s sitting at the Federal Center in Denver going through Census microfilm. I swear, everyone else sitting there with me was over 65 years old. Though I did drag my sister along a couple of times. Along the same vein. One summer on the way to the lake when my kids were about 2, 4 and 6 I decided I wanted to stop by some cemeteries where I knew that family was buried. We�d get out of the car, wander around the cemetery looking at tomb stone and then taking pictures of any that I was sure were ancestors of some sort. Over about a 2 day period we stopped at about 6 or 7 cemeteries across the state of North Dakota. After that trip my kids would excitedly point out cemeteries when we were out driving in hopes that we would stop! They had come to associate �getting out of the car and running around in the sunshine� with them.

6) I�m a bookaholic. I have TONS of books. I love walking around in new or used bookstores. But I particularly like old book stores, that smell of musky books somehow awakens the wonder of discovery. I still own most of the books I�ve ever bought. I started frequenting a basement used bookstore when I was eleven years old. When I was about 12 years old I came across a book called �Mrs. Mike�. It was printed during World War II, I believe. I bought a hard copy edition of it for $1 and read it. I loved that book. Over then next 3 years I found two more copies of the book at that bookstore and bought both of them. Why? Three copies of the same book? Who knows? Stranger yet, two years ago this spring when my Aunt died I went through the town where I lived from 5 to 15 and we walked around downtown. It had been 30 years since I�d been there and I wondered if that bookstore was still there. It was gone, but across the street from where it had been was a used bookstore. We went in and I found that it was indeed the same bookstore, but they�d moved out of the basement of the jewelry store a couple years after we moved from there. I couldn�t help myself. I walked around and looked for the book. It was on the self� I bought it again.

As for the �you are tagged�? I�m with Neal, the first six people to read this that haven�t done it, are �tagged�. :o)
Your Five Factor Personality Profile
Extroversion:

You have low extroversion.
You are quiet and reserved in most social situations.
A low key, laid back lifestyle is important to you.
You tend to bond slowly, over time, with one or two people.

Conscientiousness:

You have high conscientiousness.
Intelligent and reliable, you tend to succeed in life.
Most things in your life are organized and planned well.
But you borderline on being a total perfectionist.

Agreeableness:

You have high agreeableness.
You are easy to get along with, and you value harmony highly.
Helpful and generous, you are willing to compromise with almost anyone.
You give people the benefit of the doubt and don't mind giving someone a second chance.

Neuroticism:

You have low neuroticism.
You are very emotionally stable and mentally together.
Only the greatest setbacks upset you, and you bounce back quickly.
Overall, you are typically calm and relaxed - making others feel secure.

Openness to experience:

Your openness to new experiences is medium.
You are generally broad minded when it come to new things.
But if something crosses a moral line, there's no way you'll approve of it.
You are suspicious of anything too wacky, though you do still consider creativity a virtue.

Your Personality is Very Rare (INFP)
Your personality type is dreamy, romantic, elegant, and expressive.

Only about 5% of all people have your personality, including 6% of all women and 4% of all men
You are Introverted, Intuitive, Feeling, and Perceiving.

0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!