Newest Entries
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Favorite Blogs...
DefectiveYeti
The Bleat
WilWheatonDotNet
Spike on the River
Neal in Antarctica
Leah's Blog
CamiSue's Blog


Other Links...
Play a game?
CNN News
Trekky Spot
WOW
< ? Colorado Blogs # >

previous - next

December 29, 2006 - Friday, 8:20 p.m.

Winter Wonderland...

Two thousand and six is drawing to a close. It�s hard to believe that another year has slipped by. The weather has been very winter like the last few weeks. I like the way it looks. I had my CT Scan and doctor appointment in Denver on Thursday. Fortunately, the scan was done very quickly and then I was able to move up my doctor appoint. We were headed out of Denver before the time of my original appointment. My surgery has been set for January 10, 2006. They will be removing my right adrenal gland. It�ll be laparoscopic so I am hoping for a quick recovery.

It dropped about 8 inches of snow yesterday and it was quite cold so the roads weren�t good. Philip wasn�t able to get out of the driveway to go to work, and Moon said her drive home was scary. Justin walked down the hill and got the car back to the house. This morning I headed out about 9 am and shoveled some snow, thinking perhaps I might get out and get to work. By the time I�d cleared a couple paths and started to clean off my car I was freezing cold. I came in and took a hot bath and then crawled into bed. I slept about 4 hours and then woke up with a low grade fever.

I love the quiet that comes with the snow. It some how feels incredibly serene.

This has been quite the year. It�s seems forever ago that I graduated. And it�s only just over 6 months ago. I�ve not found another job this year, and I imagine I didn�t look as hard as I might of if I really wanted to change. At work our CEO was �dethroned� and a new CEO took his place at the beginning of fourth quarter. He�s hired a number of new people to key positions (some of which didn�t exist before like a Chief HR Officer). I am hopeful that change will be positive and that I�ll see it in the next few months. I got a promotion at work, and have been working at fixing my financial situation. One might facilitate the other if I could just find a new job or get paid better. Here is to hoping that next year will be even better. It looks like 2007 will show me my boys all in college! I am hoping it is a successful year for them.

I am finding comfort in the familiarity of my life. It�s funny how we yearn for the things that we know. I know it makes me feel very content. There are things I�d like to see improve, like keeping up with the laundry or keeping the house straighter, but all in all it�s good. I have time to myself, there tends to be a din of activities in the back ground always. I like having my boys around. I know these years are special. Not every Mom has the pleasure of having her kids around for so long. Or the time I�ve had to get to know Moon. I love the ebb and flow of my nieces and nephews at the house. It is wonderful to see how close all twelve of our kids are going to be.

Ethan was down for a couple nights. He road home with Philip and I from Christmas dinner at Lynn�s. I can see why the boys like Philip. He talked with Ethan the whole car ride home. Mostly they talked about music, but Philip treated him like he was an equal. As an oldest child I know how wonderful it is to have older kids to hang around with that don�t treat you like a little kid. I always wanted to hang out with Beverly�s kids. It wasn�t real often, but I did it enough to become friends with my cousins and still am close to them.

Dakotah showed up about halfway through Ethan�s visit and stayed here one night too. They had a GREAT time. Megan is in and out a lot, as are Kyle and Maleah, and Jeremy. It�ll be very strange when everyone is off living their lives. It�ll be quiet here all the time then, which is odd to think about.

I figure I�ll still need to look for that second job. So now that I know when my surgery will be and have a rough idea of when I�ll be feeling tip-top, I can start to seriously look for something. Right at this moment I feel optimistic about what the future will bring. Somehow it�ll all work out if I work hard enough at it all. At least I am moving into an era of my life, where I don�t need a lot. That definitely helps.

I am going to try to keep up better at this next year. So much filters through my mind, so many thought and then they seep away.

Later�. M

0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!