Newest Entries
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Favorite Blogs...
DefectiveYeti
The Bleat
WilWheatonDotNet
Spike on the River
Neal in Antarctica
Leah's Blog
CamiSue's Blog


Other Links...
Play a game?
CNN News
Trekky Spot
WOW
< ? Colorado Blogs # >

previous - next

January 01, 2006 - Sunday, 2:28 p.m.

Happy New Year 2006

Well, another year has slipped quietly away. The wind chimes are singing outside my window, and I can hear the wind. The sun is shining and it looks like spring. Not a bad way to ring in the New Year. Last night I spent with L & T. We watched �Independence Day�, watched the ball drop at Madison Square Gardens, and had some sparkling cider. L had G open the front door to �let the New Year in�. :o) We sang happy birthday to L and had some cake. It was really a nice quiet evening.

This morning I am being serenaded by drums. :o) Curt�s friend, that he is working on a band with is going to move out of his apartment and asked to leave his drums here. He brought them over this morning and set them up in the spare bedroom in the basement. Curt took his amp down there and they are playing. Guess band practice is here. :o) Good thing I don�t mind the drums at all. It�s nice and rhythmic so doesn�t grate on my nerves. Though I am upstairs, the spare room is below Curt�s room, which is next to mine so it�s pretty clear. I hope it isn�t bothering Justin, though probably not as that man can sleep through ANYTHING. The person it�s sure to bother is Philip. He doesn�t sleep well in the first place. He isn�t complaining however, so perhaps the rhythm of it isn�t bothersome to him either.

I should try to get out into this very nice day. However, currently I am sitting around in my pjs being lazy. It�s nice. I don�t really have to accomplish anything today and I think perhaps I�ll take advantage of that. I got a call from a friend today. She and her husband have started their divorce. In some ways it was surprising to hear, and in others not so surprising. She is a friend that I really made while I was going through my �year of patience�. In the Bah�� Faith, divorces aren�t done quickly. You take a year, living apart, to see if the marriage is really irreconcilable. It�s a time to talk and perhaps iron our things in your marriage. Divorce isn�t taken lightly, though it is permissible. She and I both have three kids and there were four of us in our community going through our year together. We got together as a �support group�. Debi and I found that we had a great degree in common, and we became fast friends in that year. We did classes for the kids together as they grew and really found that we could understand where each other was standing. We were both raised as Bah��s. Our parent became Bah��s around the same time, and we ended up living in the same community through our first marriages and divorce. Neither of us had married men who were Bah��s and in many ways we always seemed like single parents to our community. We are only about 3 or 4 years different in age, so really we had so very much to talk about, and we both spent a lot of time say, �I know what you mean!!� It�s been almost 15 years now that we�ve been friends and we�ve kept in touch all these years. I consider her to be a close friend though we really don�t spend a lot of time together. It was really a nice phone conversation this morning. She is really doing very well, and it looks like the divorce will be very amicable, which is wonderful, as her last one wasn�t good at all. She�s been married 10 years to this man. I am sorry that it didn�t work out, but am glad that she is doing good and looking to reclaim herself. She got lost somewhere along the way, at least she lost track of part of herself. There will be big changes in her life this year.

I suppose I should make some new years resolutions. Isn�t that what you are supposed to do? Hmmm�. Perhaps I should just look ahead and see what I�d like to make happen this year. I�ll get my degree in May, and this year is Lake Year. Woo-hoo!! Those things are going to happen. I guess this year I�d like to get into work earlier most days. I�d like to make time to ride my bike this year and hike. I�d like to sit down and layout the books I�d like to get read this year. I�ve never done that before. I�ve always just picked up and read whatever struck my fancy. But the years are whooshing by, and I do have books that I think I SHOULD read. Perhaps it is time to start doing that. I think I�d love to start like a �book club� with some of my family, maybe my kids, my sisters and parts of their families. It would be fun to decide together to read some books and then get together once or twice a month and talk about what we are reading. I think I�ll pitch that idea at our next Ruhi class, and maybe send an email to my sisters. Anyway, I will make a list for myself. For fun reading, I really want to get through the rest of the books on Pern by McCaffrey. I still have a pile of them, and then there are still more for me to find at the used bookstore. I�ll be able to read all through the semester this time, as I�ll only have one class!! Like every year, I�d like to lose a little weight this year. I still have about 30 more I�d like to lose. Not much, but the last pounds are always the hardest. I have been at the same weight for 2 � years now, not varying more then about 5 lbs. Which is fantastic, and if I never lose another pound I�ll be content. But 30 more would really be nice. :o) I probably should try harder to bring my lunch to work, though currently I�m hardly eating anything during the day. I know that isn�t good, however. Something to ponder on I suppose. Last night, during the ten minute we watched the stuff happening in Madison Square Gardens, there was this great quote. It was about new years resolutions. They said that the most common resolution for years has been lose weight and get in shape, and then they mentioned what it was 4000 years ago. It was to return borrowed farm equipment. For some reason I thought that was hilarious. Obviously I have a strange sense of humor. :o) LOL. I just told Curtis it. He didn�t find it funny at all. :o) There�s the proof. Mother = strange sense of humor.

It�s 2:30 in the afternoon. Curtis is hungry, and wants me to cook something. I think taking a shower and getting dressed might be a good idea. :o) Maybe I�ll head out and go some place. As I sit here, with the curtains drawn and the window open, it feels like it�s nearly summer. I know it is an illusion, but it really feels nice.

Happy New Year!!

M.

0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!