Newest Entries
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Favorite Blogs...
DefectiveYeti
The Bleat
WilWheatonDotNet
Spike on the River
Neal in Antarctica
Leah's Blog
CamiSue's Blog


Other Links...
Play a game?
CNN News
Trekky Spot
WOW
< ? Colorado Blogs # >

previous - next

December 31, 2005 - Saturday, 2:08 p.m.

New Years Eve Day...

Once upon a time New Year�s Eve was an evening of introspection, like I need another day of introspection. :o) It�s a time to look back over the year at what worked and what didn�t. It�s a time to look ahead and think about how to change the things that didn�t work. It�s been quite a year, though nothing too spectacular. I have moved into the homestretch of my degree. Work seems to have floated to the top of my focus. Phil came and went. Tim never even showed up, but went as well. At least Tim was an improvement on Phil. He was gracious in his interaction with me, and if his circumstances ever changed he�d be worth pursuing. Perhaps I am starting to figure something out.

It�s time to turn my focus on finding a new job. I am not sure that I am really MBA material, nor whether or not I am going to be able to find anything employing the degree. I do know however that I�ll figure out a way to make it all work financially, even if that means two jobs for a while. Thank goodness my health is pretty good and I seem perfectly capable of working on little sleep. One of the companies I was hoping I might have a chance with is looking like they are moving their design work offshore. They seemed to have lost a number of people from their Phoenix offices; so much for that idea. I keep thinking that if I do get a second job I am going to look for something with the possibility of tips.

I feel like I am falling behind on stuff. I�m not sure what, actually. But it �feels� that way. I need to clean my house, go through the mail, probably some laundry� but here I sit. I don�t feel like doing anything. I keep getting a headache, which makes me just want to sit here, and maybe sleep.

Earlier this week I went and saw �Narnia�. I know I�ve already mentioned that, but I can�t stop thinking about it. I bought the soundtrack. I really like Alannis Morissette�s song, �Wunderkind�, on that album. Narnia and Middle Earth swirl together in my mind. I can�t help think about one without thinking about the other. I took a class called �Folk Lore, Myth and Fairy Tale� when I was in college 25 years ago. In that class we studied both the Lord of the Rings and the Chronicles of Narnia. We found that both authors were very thematic, and they were also Pub buddies. They�d often get together with some others, have a beer and discuss the books they were writing. They have a number of common themes, though are two completely different stories. In that class we discussed thematic ideas from works like Dante�s Inferno, Paradise Lost, Pilgrim�s Progress and how they all borrowed from the Bible. The Christ parallel in the Narnia books is much more obviously written. There is no doubt in anyone�s mind that Aslan is the Christ figure of that series, and he is very much modeled after Christ. In Lord of the Rings, it is less obvious that Gandalf is the Christ parallel. Yet that parallel is there.

It all makes me think about the process of writing, and how much help it must have been for them to have a place to bounce their ideas off of others. Both of their series, as well as the Harry Potter books, make me wish I could write something that would really strike a cord, even if it were just for me. I so like that idea of creating a world and then writing about it. McCaffrey does the same thing. These types of books just suck me in, and so make me daydream about writing.

Did I mention that the personal trainer called me this week? Probably not, as I am not looking forward to the sessions. I guess my personal training sessions had to be done in a six month period, some how I had it in my mind that they were good for a year. Any way, I�ll be meeting with her three days a week for the next two weeks and then 2 times the following week. I�ll not have used up all my sessions, but they�ll expire January 19th. Just as well. I�ll do one last ditch effort to get myself to the gym. I should be motivated to want to keep in �great� physical shape, but it really isn�t a driving force in my life. It should be, but the reality of it is that it ISN�T. Going to a gym, just really isn�t that fun. I like the pool, but not enough to get in their regularly. I think it is probably best that I just try to do the things that I enjoy� walking, hiking and riding my bike. Not that I make a lot of time for that either. Come on, I am 45 years old, I�m not likely to change how I operate, and I really am okay with it.

I�ve had a number of strange dreams in the last few weeks. It seems I am either trying to find the path through (like my design work) or I am literally running around trying to accomplish tasks like in World of Warcraft. They end up being restless nights of sleep.

I heard from my doctor�s office on Friday. I guess my ultrasound showed that all my organs look normal. Surprise! Not. My guess is they are never going to be able to figure out what happened a few weeks ago. They aren�t done checking yet though, guess I�ll get a CT (cat scan) of my lower abdomen in the next week or so. Am guessing that�ll look normal too. Ah well, guess I�ll chalk it up to a digestive tract virus of some sort.

GAH!! How is it that I can feel so incredibly restless and just sit here? I know it is the headache, but still. The house is so quiet. It�s already 1:30 in the afternoon, but I think everyone in the house, except me, is asleep. I need a shower and I should strip my bed and wash the sheets.

There is much more pondering to do this day, but first I think I�ll take a nap so this Advil can work.

Later�. M

Happy New Year.

0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!