Newest Entries
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Favorite Blogs...
DefectiveYeti
The Bleat
WilWheatonDotNet
Spike on the River
Neal in Antarctica
Leah's Blog
CamiSue's Blog


Other Links...
Play a game?
CNN News
Trekky Spot
WOW
< ? Colorado Blogs # >

previous - next

November 20, 2005 - Sunday, 12:51 a.m.

My Room...

Its midnight and I have a headache. I was incredibly lazy today. I cleaned the kitchen and living room, went to a birthday party, took a nap, watched TV and put together my PowerPoint presentation for Monday�s class. Okay� so it was a mixture of industriousness with shear laziness thrown in for good measure.

Stormy and Halfie have finally become friends. They look adorable tonight. They are lying together on my bed sleeping. As much hissing as went on every time Halfie saw Stormy I was beginning to think they�d never get along, but here they are.

My room is a mess. I was talking to L last week some time. She was talking about how it is taking some getting used to sleeping with someone again. How she used to have ALL the bed and now she only gets half. I got to thinking I seem to constantly have stuff sitting beside me on the bed. Most of the time � of my bed is covered with the books I am reading, homework, remote controls for the TV and anything else I might want to set down on the bed like my purse and folded laundry awaiting dresser delivery. Tonight there are two cats and a pile of extra pillows as well. Here eventually I�ll put the lap top over there, to use in the morning or tomorrow some time. I think I�d actually have MORE room if there were someone sleeping with me. :o)

The clutter makes me crazy some days. I really should just keep it clean all the time, but unfortunately I�m a �drop it were I stand� kinda person. The coat by the front door, the purse on my bed, the shoes by the computer, whatever I just got done wearing either in a basket or to a pile by the wall. However if I sit on the couch in the living room I could just as easily leave my shoes there, or if I brought in groceries I might leave my purse and jacket in the kitchen. If I take a shower I could just as likely leave my shoes and clothes on the floor in the bathroom. I usually have to search for my car keys in the morning. If I�m lucky I�ll remember that I left them in the pocket of my jeans, in my purse, in my coat pocket, by the front door, on the counter in the kitchen, by the computer or on my bed. It is amazing to me that I�ve really never lost a set of keys in my life. I still have a key chain I bought at nineteen at the mall. I�m actually pretty good about cleaning up after myself, and for the most part the house is pretty clean. I just don�t do it as I go.

My house doesn�t have a lot of knick-knacks around. Certainly nothing I am concerned about getting broken. There isn�t a lot of clutter in the living room. However in my bedroom I have all sorts of junk. Stuff I�ve been getting all my life. I have a little Minnie Mouse figurine on a mirror with my perfume. I got it at Disneyland when I was 15. I have a dozen little bottles of perfume, some of them over 35 years old. I have a little pewter comb and mirror set that my Grandma B gave me when I was about 10. There are candles on the dresser and the desk. There are things my kids made at school. I have lots of pictures on the walls. Photos I took that I framed, four from a trip to Israel, one from a trip to the Oregon coast, pictures of my boys, a great picture of Curtis that my Dad took, adorable pictures of Justin and Philip that Lynn took when they were little, one of those collage frames filled with pictures from our trip to Israel, some stuff I got in India, just stuff I�ve gotten over the years. There even a poster of Viggo Mortensen as Aragorn on the wall behind my computer monitor. I have books stacked up on and around my bedside stand. Books I�m going to read, and books I�ve recently finished reading. For all the stuff I have around my color scheme certainly isn�t feminine. The carpet is a dark forest green as are the curtains. My bedding is dark green and blue with some gold and burgundy. My bedroom gives me a lot of serenity and calms me; I like to be in it. I�ll clean it up and vacuum tomorrow and all will be good again.

I�m thinking I�ll turn off the lights, turn on �Enterprise�, set the TV to turn off in an hour and fall asleep.

Sweet dreams. M.

0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!