Newest Entries
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Favorite Blogs...
DefectiveYeti
The Bleat
WilWheatonDotNet
Spike on the River
Neal in Antarctica
Leah's Blog
CamiSue's Blog


Other Links...
Play a game?
CNN News
Trekky Spot
WOW
< ? Colorado Blogs # >

previous - next

August 03, 2005 - Wednesday, 3:33 p.m.

Trying to Regroup and find a path forward...

Every now and then I foray into the world of relationships, the romantic kind. They never work out for one reason or another and I am pretty much back where I started. Granted I learn a little bit more about myself with each trip, but nonetheless I�m put in a position to try to resume life, as it was, once the possibility of a relationship comes to a screeching halt.

I am there once again. The thing I don�t think I really realized before is that, having been alone for as long as I have, I struggle with having all the responsibility of living a life and raising kids by myself and as soon as I start to think about someone perhaps coming into my life I start to imagine how nice it would be to divvy up the load. To have some help, even if it is just about figuring stuff out, is such a load lifted off my shoulders. There is also the thought of having companionship. Of there being someone to come home to, or someone to do things with or for, these ideas start to grow and I can almost feel the stress of life to start to lift, and then before I know it, Mr. Whomever, has had second thoughts, or it was all just some crazy idea I had and it�s back to carrying on life by myself. However minor that lift of stress is, by just the THOUGHT of having someone at my side, it is horrible to put that yoke back on. It carries with it such a feeling of hopelessness. The sure knowledge that if I have 100% of whatever in my capacity (time, money, energy), my life requires about 130%, and there is no way to really make up that difference other then going back to the exhausting state of juggling.

So along with coping with the idea that some how I didn�t match the desired profile, or for some unfathomable reason I�m just not right, and dealing with the thoughts of inadequacy, I have to figure out how to face all the other stress in my life, as I always have, by myself. One or the other is completely capable of depressing me, both together are sure to take me there repeatedly over the next� well forever as far as I can see.

Somehow I have to figure out how to put that �survival mode� out of my life. I don�t know how to make it something that doesn�t matter. It is something that I need to think on deeply. How does one balance being responsible with being detached from the material?

Sometimes I wish I could just let the powers that be walk in and take everything, all my stuff and all the bills and then I could just start over again, with a blank slate. I mean, that is what bankruptcy is all about, but I never had it in me to go that route, always felt like I had to take care of it myself, somehow. I guess I can see why people just disappear, drop off the face of the earth and move to South America. All this worry about finances just makes me crazy. Especially when in the scope of things I think it isn�t that important. But for me it is all wrapped up in being responsible. If I could figure out how to work two full time jobs without crashing and burning physically and mentally, I�d be doing it. I can�t make it work, I�ve even tried before, couldn�t go much more then two weeks, before I had to quit the one job. Hence, the journey back to school. One way or the other I�ll clear the slate before I die. I just didn�t want my life to be about surviving. Seems like all my focus has been on getting by. Somehow I screwed up what I thought was important at some point in my life, to leave me always thinking about and worrying about how we�d pay for the necessities of life � probably by trying to replicate my own upbringing that was funded by my father who by relative comparison was always making at least twice as much as I did. I should have tried to focus on getting by with less, as I had so much less to fund it. Oh, all water over the dam at this point. No point in bemoaning that. ::sighs::

I need to come up with a plan. Right now I just desperately want to find a job that pays better that doesn�t require that I move out of the state. I think perhaps I still need to think about that second job, but it stresses me out to think about trying to work full time where I am working now, go to school, and try to make time for another job. Though it would certainly leave me little time to think about my non-existent love life. That alone merits it some thought. Once upon a time I worked a second job to give me some pseudo social interaction, and it worked. Though I was tired a lot, and it kept me from doing other stuff. ::sighs:: There seems to be no good way to face financial woes by oneself, other then to put your head down and work.

Well� enough whining for one day. Hopefully soon I�ll stop whining and ponder something more interesting.

Later� M.

0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!