Newest Entries
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Favorite Blogs...
DefectiveYeti
The Bleat
WilWheatonDotNet
Spike on the River
Neal in Antarctica
Leah's Blog
CamiSue's Blog


Other Links...
Play a game?
CNN News
Trekky Spot
WOW
< ? Colorado Blogs # >

previous - next

June 18, 2005 - Saturday, 11:31 p.m.

Hiking the Loop...

Next time I decide to start a hike at noon, somebody slap me. Hiking should be done at the coolest point in the day... preferably with a temperature of about 45 as the high of the day. Moon and I hiked the Palmer Loop today. It took almost 4 hours, not a cloud in the sky and the temps were in the 80's!!! I am sadly out of shape. The muscles worked just fine. They could take the hike; the respiratory system had a much tougher time. No heart palpitations this time, so we did the whole hike, but about a 1000 feet or 1500 feet vertically down the trail and I was having a tough time. It wasn�t so much that I was getting winded, as was the problem that when I would stop to catch my breath, the ground considered coming up to meet me. Hmmm� all the indicators telling me I was likely to pass out appeared and I dropped to my butt on the ground, this happened a number of times before we got to the top of the hill on the trail. We were too far along to turn around and go back (nearly 1 � hours down the trail), and I knew the trail ahead was a much easier hike then the return hike down the steep terrain. We stopped over a dozen times to let me catch my breath and the first 2 miles of the trail took us around two hours to complete. Once to the top it improved 100 fold. We stopped only about once to rest during the remaining 4 miles, which took us about 1 � hours to complete. It�s a great hike, a tough workout, and I have to say I am glad I did this hike with Moon. She patiently waited for me to rest, and allowed me to set the pace. It was also comforting to know that she was every bit as tired as I was when we got back to the car, and I am 21 years older then her!!

My aches and pains have aches and pains. It�ll be amazing if I can even get out of bed in the morning. I just took a nice, long, hot bath and read another 100 pages of �The DaVinci Code�. I am totally sucked into the book. It was hard to put down, but I have to sleep. On top of which I have NOT done my paper or test for my class which is due this coming Friday. Ugh!!! I may have to make myself take a day off from work to finish it all up. Friday would be nice. I�ll have to see how the week progresses.

Tomorrow morning I am suppose to have a committee meeting, but we are having a hard time coming up with a quorum, so it may be postponed. That would be good, as then I can spend the morning working on my paper, spend the afternoon at my parent�s for Father�s Day, and still hit Wayfarer�s in the evening if Phil calls and is planning to go. Looks to be a busy week ahead, Tuesday evening I have a class at Shewmaker�s to learn about my new camera and then a study group after that for an hour. Wednesday Phil and I will go for a walk/hike somewhere (I�m going to vote for Garden of the Gods), and Thursday is a Sister�s Scrabble night at Barnes and Noble. When am I going to fit in my paper?! Perhaps I should take TWO days off. :o) We�ll see.

I�m tired and the house is finally starting to cool off. Given a choice I think I�d rather snuggle in bed with someone then about anything else I can think of at the moment. Alas, not to be. Sweet dreams�.

M.

0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!