Newest Entries
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Favorite Blogs...
DefectiveYeti
The Bleat
WilWheatonDotNet
Spike on the River
Neal in Antarctica
Leah's Blog
CamiSue's Blog


Other Links...
Play a game?
CNN News
Trekky Spot
WOW
< ? Colorado Blogs # >

previous - next

May 31, 2005 - Tuesday, 11:01 p.m.

A Good Day...

There is something terribly romantic about lying in bed listening to the trains go through town, blowing their whistle in the middle of the night. It elicits thoughts of exotic destinations and slow rhythmic journey�s across America. The trains I listen to at night are almost always coal trains. If there are south bound they have coal in them, if they are northbound they are empty. I�ve almost never seen a passenger train come through town, but it�s a passenger train I think of when I hear the whistle blowing.

In 1916, at the age of fifteen, my grandfather, Vernon, road the rails from North Dakota to California. It has a romantic sound to it, though I am sure it must have been quite an adventure. His father wasn�t a very nice man. The stories of this are limited, the only one I recall says that he hit the kids and that my great-grandmother once, with pitch fork in hand, pointed at my great-grandfathers chest, told him she�d run him through if he touched the kids again. I don�t know that he listened. Fed up with it, Vernon left and was gone for more then a year. However, when he returned home, in his father�s eyes he was a man, and he never touched him again. I�ve often wished that somewhere my grandfather would have written down this experience. Southern California, in 1916-17 would have been fascinating to hear about. I�m not even sure what work he did there, though I know he worked at something other then farming. However, nothing exists and the stories are far and few between.

It�s coming up on 11 pm and I really should go to sleep. My test went well tonight. I went and studied for a couple hours before the test with Dan, and it was much easier then I�d expected. Thank goodness!! It made for a very nice end to a very good day.

As blue as I was yesterday, I was surprised to wake up in a good mood this morning, but I did. After feeling hopeless, it was nice to wake up with hope in my heart again. Work passed without problems, and I had plenty of work to keep me busy all day. My big worry, that Phil would avoid me, didn�t come to pass. He arrived in my cube a couple hours after I got to work and we had a pleasant, comfortable conversation. I managed NOT to jump up and hug him. :o) I let Phil know that I have plans to go to the jam thing on Thursday night. He let me know that he�ll plan to be there, and if things change he�ll let me know. I gave him my number, so now he has that, in case things change at the last moment, which I don�t expect that they will. I have no real agenda, other then to spend some more time with him in some environment other then my cube at work. I�ve no idea what will happen as we go down this road, but I am content to let it unfold however it might, and hopefully enjoy myself in the process.

I�ve the windows open again, it�s cool outside. The wind is blowing softly through the trees. The house is quiet tonight. I think I may be able to sleep.

Sweet dreams.

0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!