Newest Entries
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Favorite Blogs...
DefectiveYeti
The Bleat
WilWheatonDotNet
Spike on the River
Neal in Antarctica
Leah's Blog
CamiSue's Blog


Other Links...
Play a game?
CNN News
Trekky Spot
WOW
< ? Colorado Blogs # >

previous - next

December 11, 2004 - Saturday, 9:41 p.m.

Brick work and conversation...

This day didn't end up as warm as the weatherman claimed it would. Don't know what that is surprising. I went out shopping with Camille this morning, and we got back to the house by about 11 am. We sat and visited in the car in front of the house. About the time I got out of the car, Mark arrived. I'd seen a car go by us as we were talking and when it flipped around and headed back down the street I figured it was him and got out of the car. It was. :o)

He was just a little lost, he was on the right street but couldn't remember the house number, but realized he was in the right place when I got out of the car. I wasn't surprized to find that he has very long hair, down to the middle of his back, but he was surprised that I wasn't surprised. He said often people don't even recognize him, though I am not sure who these people could be as he looks exactly as I expected and not that different from how he looks every day (other then the hair is up in a hat at work).

We started with the DE-luxe tour of wannabe projects. We walked and talked about the cracks in the bricks, the movement of the house, etc... and then into the basement to look at the bathroom that needs tile work, and the main room down there that needs the floor leveled. As the afternoon progressed we talked about the roof that needs to have the shingles torn off and redone, the gutters that need to all be replaced, the numerous boards that would need to be replaced on the eaves before painting could commence... windows, taping, texturing, the list is endless. Mark graciously offered to help with any and all of it.

I sat and watched him work on the bricks on the garage, and we talked.... and we talked... about house projects, where we grew up, went to high school, places that he worked... he grew up in Manitou Springs... so I figured he graduated from there... but no.. he'd moved to some little town as a freshman... Woodland Park and graduated from there. I said, "Really?" ::blink, blink:: "When?" He said, "1985." Strange small world. He remembers Char. She hung out with some of the popular people and did sports, and is bubblely and fun. Not surprised that he would remember her.

I was surprised. I don't remember how we got on the topic of how I tend to have a calming effect on people. Not sure why or how, but I seem to. He said, that he'd noticed that about me, that is part of what drew him to me. Wow... I don't think I recalled that he said that until I just wrote it down. My feeling is that his read on me, and how I am is pretty close to reality.

As he volunteered to help me with everything around here, he said something about how I was going to have to get used to having him around, he said it was okay with him, that he liked being around me, and I said it was okay with me to.

He really is a very nice man. Didn't find out anything about him that bothered me. Found out some about his parents, some about him. He was close to his mother. She's been gone about eight years now. She had some awful blood disorder that they couldn't seem to figure out or help her with. Eventually she took her own life in her seventies. His father's been gone longer. He died after his second tour in Vietnam - agent orange. I can hardly imagine.

We talked about his divorce and what happened with that relationship. Seems to me he's really focused on the kids since then, though he spends alot of time working, probably too much time working. He's a gentle soul from what I can read of him. He is so different from anyone that's been around me.

He told me that he believes we were meant to meet. That he believes there is always a reason for everything. I am surprised that he would pick up on so many different things about me with so little time around me. Don't think anyone has ever done that before, figured out enough about me that they wanted to get to know me better. But that is exactly what this feels like. That some how he just figured it out and was attracted to me. That's a new thing for me.

He's coming back tomorrow. He'll get here before I get back from Ruhi... at about 11 am... I don't know what I think really... other then that I'd like to get to know him better. He gave me a big hug before he left... he hugged me tight for a long time. It's been a long time since I got a hug.

It was a really good day.

0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!