Newest Entries
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Favorite Blogs...
DefectiveYeti
The Bleat
WilWheatonDotNet
Spike on the River
Neal in Antarctica
Leah's Blog
CamiSue's Blog


Other Links...
Play a game?
CNN News
Trekky Spot
WOW
< ? Colorado Blogs # >

previous - next

September 13, 2003 - Saturday, 9:42 a.m.

The Winds of Autumn

Friday, PM

The wind has picked up. I can hear the chime outside my window and the wind rushing through the trees. I love the sound of the chimes. It makes me think of the all the wind chimes and sculptures from the movie �Twister�. It�s funny how autumn just sneaks up on you. The warm, balmy days of summer slowly drift away. The temperature drops just a little bit more each night and then you notice that the sun is rising a little later and the setting a little earlier. Suddenly the trees start to change color and it�s autumn.

The Metaphysical Fair is in town this weekend. Need your fortune told? How about a new deck of Tarot cards?! Usually, when I go, I like to look around at all the jewelry. I love the different things made from stones. Once about 5 or 6 years ago I went to the Fair with a friend. I came across a pendant that I loved. It was a rose quartz heart. The setting is silver; at the top are two dolphins nose to nose, their tails hold the two sides of the heart and their noses pointing toward the part of the pendant that attaches to the chain. I loved it. A couple years later I found another with the same setting, but a shiny blue stone, infused somehow. Any way� I started wearing the rose quartz pendant about 2 weeks ago. Some time in the last week I realized it was gone. It somehow came off my neck. I have no idea where it went. I can�t believe it. It was something I�d hoped to have all my life. I guess I�ll go by the Fair tomorrow sometime. I hope I can find another, if I can�t find my original one.

John Ritter died yesterday. He was very young. Only 54 years old. It�s one of those things that make you think about how time is passing. When we are young we don�t think about growing old and people dying that are within our generation. But it is definitely something you find yourself thinking about when you are in your 40�s. I realized the other day that in all practicality we are very similar in age to our own children. Three hundred years ago when people died in their 30�s, the gap between child and parent was great. But now, when we live well into our 80�s, our children arrive very close to our own generation. I don�t think I ever really thought about it before in quite that way.

My grandmother is 99 years old. She�ll turn 100 in March of 2004. She is my mother�s mother. My own mother was born 68 years ago. She is the baby of her family. My mother seems very young to me, not anywhere close to 70. She doesn�t seem much different to me then she was 20 years ago. I am her oldest child, and I am 43 years old. My oldest son will be 21 in December. Four generations. Only about 25 years between each generation. Once I thought 25 years was quite a long time�then I went to my 25 year high school reunion. Boy, those 25 year just FLEW by.

Saturday AM

Boy did I ramble. HEY!!! Yesterday was CamiSue and Kev's 22nd wedding anniversary!! Happy Anniversary you two!!

0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!