Newest Entries
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Favorite Blogs...
DefectiveYeti
The Bleat
WilWheatonDotNet
Spike on the River
Neal in Antarctica
Leah's Blog
CamiSue's Blog


Other Links...
Play a game?
CNN News
Trekky Spot
WOW
< ? Colorado Blogs # >

previous - next

September 29, 2006 - Friday, 1:56 a.m.

Promotion... at last...

Another week is gone. Life is slipping by pretty fast. My manager stopped by my cube tonight and gave me my promotion. It as a nice increase, ungrateful as it may sound, it wasn�t as much as I�d hoped for, but it still was a nice surprise, I�d gotten to thinking he�d just let it drop into a crack. He gave me a Technical Program Manager position and it is an exempt position, which means no possible paid over-time. So that shifts all of THAT thought pattern for making ends meet. It isn�t enough money to make me quit looking for a job, but it will look wonderful on my resume. It would be nice to get at least a year under my belt. It was a 10% raise, so I hope that is enough to get me a refinance on my house. Also, if they really give us merit raises in January THAT might push me enough up that I can breathe, which would REALLY be nice.

All of my lab results finally made it to my doctor�s office this week. It was the results from a test called an �adrenal vein sampling� that I had done at the hospital at the beginning of September. The concern is that one, or possibly two, of my adrenal glands is over producing aldosterone. Aldosterone producing tumors cause high blood pressure and low serum (blood) potassium levels and can cause the adrenal gland to over-produce aldosterone. The doctor that did the adrenal vein sampling said that there was a VERY small tumor on one of my adrenals. The sampling that he did will tell me if one or both of the adrenal glands is over producing. If both are over producing my doctor told me that she�ll just prescribe medication for it. (And in turn my potassium levels should go back to normal and there is a possibility that my high blood pressure will go away.) On the other hand if just one is over producing, they�ll go in and perform laparoscopic surgery to remove the adrenal gland. This would be surgery including a general anesthesia.

Now, when my doctor�s assistant called on Wednesday to let me know that they had all the paper work in. He said that the doctor wanted to see me in the office, to talk to me about her �concerns� on my results. He asked when I might be available for an appointment and I said Thursdays and Fridays are good, but really most any day around lunch time would work. His response was that he didn�t have anything the NEXT day but could get me in at 11:40 on Friday. He then said that I would be the last appointment of the day, and that I was placed in one of her �emergency� spots. So� Hmmm� that makes me a little nervous. It doesn�t seem like there should be any urgency involved in this. I am glad that I�ll know what is going on in less then 12 hours from now.

Tomorrow will be a strange day. I don�t really need any more hours this week. I am currently sitting with 39 hours so far this week, and now there is no over-time pay for me. My promotion was effective September 24th. I may just do what my boss suggested earlier today, and not come back after my doctor appointment. (I don�t know that he knew that I would get the promotion when I did.) I�ll have to see how the day goes, and then what the doctor has to say. I�ll talk to my boss when I get into work tomorrow morning.

I didn�t have much of a weight loss for my first week in Weight Watchers. It was 1.8 lbs, not great, but in the right direction. Camille and Charlotte lost 8 lbs and 3.8 lbs respectively, which was AWESOME. Hopefully next week will be better for me.

It�s getting late. The weather is supposed to be great this weekend. I plan to get the repair work on the brick done this weekend. I�d better get some sleep.

Sweet dreams. M.

0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!