Newest Entries
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Favorite Blogs...
DefectiveYeti
The Bleat
WilWheatonDotNet
Spike on the River
Neal in Antarctica
Leah's Blog
CamiSue's Blog


Other Links...
Play a game?
CNN News
Trekky Spot
WOW
< ? Colorado Blogs # >

previous - next

January 24, 2006 - Tuesday, 1:23 a.m.

It's still my Monday...

The last few days have evaporated into thin air. I had class today. The professor had us there until the last moment. I didn't get home until after 10 pm, so have been just trying to relax and unwind.

Today was busy. One of those days when I barely left my desk. I didn't eat lunch or go get anything to eat. I got done what I needed to get done.

I'll go to lunch tomorrow with a friend from work, so at least I'll get away for a bit. I am going to be busy this week. Don't even want to contemplate it.

It's been cold for a number of days. There is still snow on the ground and ice everywhere from the storm last week. The evening it snowed I remember looking out the window, and there was that pink tinge to everything that you get from the lights in the dark reflecting from the snow. It just makes a person want to go out and sit out in it.

It really made me think about growning up in Minnesota. We lived in Minnesota from the time I was 5 years old until I was 15. The first snow flew about mid to late November, and once the snow was on the ground it didn't disappear until early April.

When I was a little girl, every girl tended to wear dresses to school. We all had lockers from about 2 grade up, to house all that snow gear we wore, including snow pants. We lived about 5 blocks from the elementary school I went to, and there was no bus, so I walked. One of the first years we lived in the house in Anoka, there was a big snow storm that left a couple feet of snow (nearly 3 feet). My mother said that my dad shoveled the sidewalk from out front door out to the main sidewalk, and then the sidewalk in front of the house. She said it left a trench in the deep snow, and when I walk out to go to school, she said when I turned onto the main side walk, she couldn't see me anymore due to the snow.

I didn't weigh much as a kid and in Minnesota, there tends to develop a hard layers of snow on top from what little melting the sun created. I can remember that I was light enough to walk on top of the snow, which was always pretty hard around the places that were shoveled. However, as you walked out into the middle of a snow field, the crust of snow would get thinner and thinner until every now and then I'd break through and drop into about waist deep snow. I loved walking on top of the snow. It felt like magic.

It's funny how kids amuse themselves. :o) I remember that I had a square lunch box made of metal. It was white with pink flowers as I recall. I can remember dragging that lunch box along the snow as I walked to school. It left a groove in the snow, that reminded me of a road. I was always trying to create a 'road' all the way to school. Every couple of days it would have completely disappeared due to blowing snow, and I'd make it over and over again. It was a miniature road, and my mind would wander off and think about little people using my road to get around. The miniature world was always fun to ponder on.

I can remember how cold it was, walking to school. If I ran at all, whether to or from school, or too and from the skating rink at the park, I remember that it was really important NOT to completely breathe in and out, as the cold air hurt your lungs. At some point I figured out if I could keep my breathing shallow it didn't hurt. I remember that as I ran I wonder recite the months from January to December over and over again. The first three months the inhale, the second three months the exhale. It worked wonderfully. :o)

Snow like that always brings back a flood of memories of growing up for me.

I've finally warmed up tonight and am starting to get drowsy.

Sweet dreams... M.

0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!