Newest Entries
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Favorite Blogs...
DefectiveYeti
The Bleat
WilWheatonDotNet
Spike on the River
Neal in Antarctica
Leah's Blog
CamiSue's Blog


Other Links...
Play a game?
CNN News
Trekky Spot
WOW
< ? Colorado Blogs # >

previous - next

August 7, 2004 - Saturday, 3:00 p.m.

North Dakota Day Trip

This is a picture of some of the second cousins. Adorable picture!!!

We did good. The weather held for us. We didn�t get rain until Friday, and it rained all day. I holed up all of Thursday and Friday reading. I finished the 4th and 5th Harry Potter books. They were both really good. Now I must patiently wait for the 6th book to come out, but I understand it is close. She did a wonderful job, completely created this fascinating world. Very good. I�d love to be able to create a world like that. I completely love the books that I have read that have created another existence, another world. I so wish I could do that. ::sighs:: Anyway, I spent my last two days at the lake buried in the books I was reading. It was really nice. I haven�t done that in a long time. We took off this morning from South Twin and now are about an hour out of Minot. An overcast, grey day. We are going to go by the farm. Last time I am sure. Mom says the farm closes next week. Bill Craft is buying it. So strange to think that after al this years the farm will go to the Craft�s. Mom was saying that when the bank foreclosed on Great Grandpa Shipman in the 30�s that the Crafts tried to buy the farm, but the bank told him family would have first chance, and that was when my Grandpa Shipman got the farm, he paid the back taxes and took over the farm. Who�d have thought that in the end it would go to the Craft�s? Bill farmed a long time with Wayne. Not many young farmers left.

Just left the farm, was strange to walk through it; almost empty, but not as empty as I would have thought. The furniture is still there and some stuff still on the walls. Very strange indeed. Stood out and talked to Bill for a bit. He was mowing the lawn. Seems like a really nice guy. Nice to know that the door will always be open for Wayne and for us to stop and say hi.

It�s turned into a partly cloudy day. No quite so dreary.

I just talked to Kathy. Paula and Carter are at the house (Laurie�s new grandson) and Laurie is on the way!! Will be so nice to see everyone!! We can get up early and head for home. Gonna be great!!

0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!