Newest Entries
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Favorite Blogs...
DefectiveYeti
The Bleat
WilWheatonDotNet
Spike on the River
Neal in Antarctica
Leah's Blog
CamiSue's Blog


Other Links...
Play a game?
CNN News
Trekky Spot
WOW
< ? Colorado Blogs # >

previous - next

June 01, 2004 - Tuesday, 3:50 p.m.

June� Summer is well underway

June. Can you believe it? I can�t. Summer is well underway. I�ve been thinking about Justin�s friends. What has started this line of thought is that Greg leaves tomorrow for Italy. He�ll be stationed there for 3 years. It seems like he just got home from Korea, and already he�s getting ready to leave. Imagine I won�t see him for 3 years now. He�ll be back in the states next May when Mike (another friend of Justin�s) graduates from West Point. When did these boys all grow up? It seems just a moment ago they were staying up all night playing AD&D.

Justin brought his friends home, so I got to know them. I recognize them and have talked to them. Philip has made good friends too, but he never �shared� them with me, so very few of them have I ever met. Curtis mostly hangs with Kyle and Maqui. Not sure who else he�s friends with.

Justin and Josh have been friends since they were 1 � years old. (They are cousins, and only 6 weeks apart in age.) They met Greg in first grade. Mike came along in Jr. High and Dan and Corey came along in high school. They have all remained friends. It makes me so very happy to see that these boys have forged such strong friendships. I love this type of thread woven into the fabric of life.

The passage of time is making me feel unsettled. My kids have grown up so fast. Before I know it, I�ll be sitting at a table for one every night.

I went up to Lynn�s new house yesterday. Wow! Their house is beautiful. Curtis said to me �Mom, when are you going to get a house like this.� My response? �Umm� never.� Never mind that the monthly house payment alone would take me two months to earn, it�s far too big. What would I do with something that big?!? Na, my house is just fine. I wish it were a little cleaner. I wish the yard looked decent� grass would be nice. But other then that� I am content with my spot in the universe.

Now, if I could just figure out how to get the boys to clean up after themselves. The mess at my house drives me crazy. 10 thousand empty (or ALMOST empty) pop cans absolutely EVERYWHERE. Plates from a week of lunches and snacks stacked in the boy�s bedrooms. Junk, junk�. Gah!! That I wish I could change. One day it�ll be clean almost all the time. Patience, my dear.

0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!